Home » General News

2012 Cluff Lecture

Clayton Christensen will present “Theories of Disruption in Education” at this year’s Cluff Lecture.

12 March 2012 0 Comments

The 2012 Benjamin Cluff, Jr. lecture, sponsored by the McKay School, will be given by Clayton Christensen, a Salt Lake City native and BYU graduate. He will be presenting “Theories of Disruption in Education” on March 22, from 11:00 a.m.-noon in the assembly hall of the Hinckley Visitors Center.

Christensen is world-renowned for his work on innovation and growth. He is regarded as the creator of and the world’s foremost authority on disruptive innovation, a framework recognizing the potential that simple technologies and products from the bottom of markets have to disrupt or displace existing market leaders.

After studying at BYU, Christensen earned an MPhil in applied econometrics from Oxford and MBA and DBA degrees from the Harvard Business School.  He is currently the Kim B. Clark Professor of Business Administration at the Harvard Business School.  He and his wife live in Belmont, MA. They are the parents of five and the grandparents of five.

In 1997 Christensen won the Global Business Book Award for the Best Business Book of the Year with The Innovator’s Dilemma.The book was translated into more than 10 languages and became a New York Times bestseller. He published Disrupting Class in 2008 and The Innovator’s Prescription in 2009. His work has been recognized by four McKinsey Awards for best articles in Harvard Business Review and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Tribeca Film Festival.

The lecture and the award presentations that will follow are held yearly in honor of Benjamin Cluff, Jr., the first President of Brigham Young University, who was an academic innovator during his 12-year administration. Cluff’s legacy included a tradition of inviting renowned scholars to make presentations to the university faculty and students. The David O. McKay School of Education celebrates this tradition by inviting honored scholars and educators to lecture at this yearly event.

The 2012 Educator Awards will also be presented at the Cluff lecture, with Marta Adair receiving the Excellence in Educator Preparation award, Tina Dyches awarded the Excellence in Educational Research and Teaching, and David Nielson the Excellence in Public School Support.

12 March 2012

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.