INTASC Standards

The following are the Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC) Standards. More information can be found by visiting the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) site.

INTASC Standard 1

INTASC Standard 1: Making Content Meaningful 

The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and can create learning experiences that make these aspects of subject matter meaningful for students.

INTASC Standard 2

INTASC Standard 2: Child Development and Learning Theory 

The teacher understands how children learn and develop, and can provide learning opportunities that support their intellectual, social and personal needs.

INTASC Standard 3

INTASC Standard 3: Learning Styles / Diversity 

The teacher understands how students differ in their approaches to learning and creates instructional opportunities that are adapted to diverse learners. 

INTASC Standard 4

INTASC Standard 4: Instructional Strategies / Problem Solving 

The teacher understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage students' development of critical thinking, problem solving, and performance skills. 

INTASC Standard 5

INTASC Standard 5: Motivation and Behavior 

The teacher uses an understanding of individual and group motivation and behavior to create a learning environment that encourages positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self-motivation.

INTASC Standard 6

INTASC Standard 6: Communication / Knowledge 

The teacher uses knowledge of effective verbal, nonverbal, and media communication techniques to foster active inquiry, collaboration, and supportive interaction in the classroom.

INTASC Standard 7

INTASC Standard 7: Planning for Instruction 

The teacher plans instruction based upon knowledge of subject matter, students, the community, and curriculum goals. 

INTASC Standard 8

INTASC Standard 8: Assessment 

The teacher understands and uses formal and informal assessment strategies to evaluate and ensure the continuous intellectual, social and physical development of the learner. 

INTASC Standard 9

INTASC Standard 9: Professional Growth / Reflection 

The teacher is a reflective practitioner who continually evaluates the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (students, parents, and other professionals in the learning community) and who actively seeks out opportunities to grow professionally. 

INTASC Standard 10

INTASC Standard 10: Interpersonal Relationships 

The teacher fosters relationships with school colleagues, parents, and agencies in the larger community to support students' learning and well being.

Department List Content Types: 
Educator Preparation Program (EPP)