Skip to main content

General Links

BYU faculty and students joined other educators in annual AECT Conference

The McKay School’s Department of Instructional Psychology and Technology had a strong showing at the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) 2015 conference.

Professor Andrew Gibbons received the Distinguished Service Award for his service as an officer and in committees and competitions. He also received the Educational Technology Research and Development Award for “significant and sustained contributions in the area of instructional design conceptual frameworks.”

Professors Rick West and Peter Rich received the 2015 Outstanding Journal Article Award, sponsored by AECT’s Research and Theory division, for the article “Rigor, Impact and Prestige: A Proposed Framework for Evaluating Scholarly Publications.”

PhD student Lisa Halverson earned the Young Scholar Award for her paper developing a research framework for looking at learner engagement in blended learning contexts. She will receive the award in 2016.

Professor Royce Kimmons won the Best Proposal AECT Teacher Education Division Award for Theories That Work: Pre-service and Practicing Teacher Evaluations of Technology Integration Models.

Professor Charles Graham and students Lisa Halverson, Kristian Spring, Jeffrey Drysdale, and 2013 graduate Curtis Henrie walked away as first-place winners for qualitative-based research, followed by Professor Rick West, student Jon Thomas, and 2013 graduate Jered Borup as second-place winners.

Student Robert Bodily was the runner-up for the Three-Minute Thesis and won a Camtasia license. He also won the People's Choice Award.

PhD student Roy Nyland and master’s student Matthew Langton from the Instructional Psychology and Technology student team were finalists in the PacifiCorp Design Competition.

The non-BYU team mentored by Professor Peter Rich was a finalist in the PacifiCorp Design Competition as well.

February 17, 2016

Writer: Maddie Schmidt and Lorraine Bailey

Contact: Cynthia Glad (801) 422-1922