Read Time: 1 minute

This year the McKay School bade farewell to three professors who collectively served the university for more than 80 years. Their contributions to the McKay School cannot be adequately put into words, but here are some highlights from their careers in education.

David McPherson

David McPherson, Communication Disorders, has been a dedicated graduate mentor and university leader, serving 12 years as a department chair and twice as graduate coordinator. He hosted numerous department social events over the span of decades. In 2004, David received the Humanitarian Award from the American Academy of Audiology, and in 2015 he received the Honors of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, his profession’s highest award.


Vance Randall

Vance Randall, Educational Leadership and Foundations, served in many roles in his department, including eight years as chair. He has also served the McKay School and the university on various committees, including the Rank and Status and the Education Measurement and Inquiry Committees. Randall also worked as a legislative fellow for Senator Orrin G. Hatch. He wrote three books, seven chapters, and 30-plus peer-reviewed articles.


Timothy Morrison

Timothy Morrison, Teacher Education, has made numerous significant contributions to the BYU–Public School Partnership and has influenced literacy instruction in local school districts. He served as Teacher Education associate chair from 2010 to 2016, as chair of the Early Childhood and Elementary Partnership Advisory Council, and as a member of the Center for the Improvement of Teacher Education and Schooling (CITES) Professional Development Coordinating Council. In 2016 he received the Benjamin Cluff Jr. Award for Educator Preparation.


Photography by Bradley Slade and BYU Photos