Aspiring Principals' Academy

Do you want to be a principal?

We are seeking innovative teachers (counselors, psychologists, etc.) who want to learn about becoming future leaders to join in the Aspiring Principals' Academy(APA), sponsored by the BYU-Public School Partnership. The APA is made up of teachers who meet four times during the year to explore the principalship.

 

2017-2018 Schedule

Tuesday Sept. 12, 2017 (8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.)
Tuesday Dec. 5, 2017 (8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.)
Tuesday February 27, 2018 (8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.)
Tuesday April 24, 2018 (4:30 - 8:00 p.m.)
 

Why Join the Aspiring Principals' Academy?

You learn

  • which leadership skills you will need,

  • what it takes to be a principal, and

  • whether leadership is the right path for you.

You receive

  • expanded networking opportunities,

  • increased insight into district cultures, and

  • information about the BYU School Leadership Program.

We expect

  • you will attend every session (tentative schedule above),

  • you will complete assigned readings before each session, and

  • you will actively participate and enjoy the sessions.

No cost, as

  • you will not be charged to participate, 

  • the cost of your substitutes will be covered, and

  • a $1,000 scholarship is possible if you apply and are accepted to the BYU School Leadership Program. (This scholarship will be prorated based on attendance at all four APA sessions). Those who participate as a License Only student are eligible for a $500 scholarship.

Application Information

Applications are now open! We encourage you to speak with your principal about joining us for the 2017-2018 Aspiring Principal's Academy.

 

Applications are due June 2, 2017 .

 

Apply Here

 

Questions?

Contact Email Phone
EDLF Department edlfsec@byu.edu 801-422-4291
David Boren david_boren@byu.edu 801-422-0059
Alpine District: John Patten jpatten@alpinedistrict.org  
Canyons District: Steve Dimond stephen.dimond@canyonsdistrict.org  
Granite District: Bill Kenley bjkenley@graniteschools.org  
Nebo District: Rick Nielsen rick.nielsen@nebo.edu  
Jordan District: June LeMaster june.lemaster@jordandistrict.org  
Provo City District: Jason Cox jasonc@provo.edu  
Wasatch County District: Paul Sweat paul.sweat@wasatch.edu  
Department List Content Types: 
Educational Leadership & Foundations (EdLF)