PhD Counseling Psychology: Faculty Information

The Counseling Psychology program core faculty include full-time faculty from the Department of Counseling Psychology and Special Education and assigned faculty from the BYU Counseling and Career Center who hold a joint appointment with CPSE. Other licensed psychologists from campus and the community teach specialty classes as appropriate.

Full-time Core Faculty (CPSE Department)

Allen, G. E. Kawika, PhD, University of Missouri, 2011. Assistant Professor. Multicultural psychology, counseling/psychotherapy process and outcome, religiosity/spirituality, psychological well-being/adjustment, specifically among Polynesians. (gekawika_allen@byu.edu

Fischer, Lane, PhD, University of Minnesota, 1991. Associate Professor. Adoption and foster care, school psychology, child and adolescent psychotherapy, ethics in counseling psychology. (lane_fischer@byu.edu)

Gabrielsen, Terisa P., PhD, University of Utah, 2012. Associate Professor. School Psychology Core Faculty. Autism, ADHD, interdisciplinary assessment and intervention, health care and education, gifted education. (terisa_gabrielsen@byu.edu)

Heath, Melisa Allen, PhD, Texas A&M University, 1996. Professor. Bibliotherapy, school-based crisis management, children’s grief, suicide prevention  (melissa_allen@byu.edu)

Jackson, Aaron P., PhD, University of Missouri, 1993. Associate Professor and Director of Training. Career development of Native Americans, counseling philosophy and theory. (aaron_jackson@byu.edu)

Smith, Timothy B., PhD, Utah State University, 1997. Professor. Moral psychology, fidelity, faith and spirituality, social and health psychology, quality relationships. (tim_smith@byu.edu)

Young, Ellie L., PhD, University of South Florida, 2001. Associate Professor. Gender issues in education, self-concept, middle school education. (ellie_young@byu.edu

Joint Appointment (CPSE Department and CCC) Core Clinical Faculty

Caldarella, Paul, PhD, Utah State University, 1998. Professor. Research methods; positive behavior support; social-emotional learning; multi-tiered systems of support (paul_caldarella@byu.edu)

Griner, Derek, PhD, Brigham Young University, 2008. Assistant Clinical Professor. Individual and group psychotherapy, couples counseling, multicultural counseling, supervision, disability service. (derek_griner@byu.edu)

Hansen, Kristina, PhD, Brigham Young University, 2012.  Associate Clinical Professor.  Individual and group psychotherapy, training and supervision, theory and philosophy of counseling, issues of power and privilege.  (kristina_hansen@byu.edu)

Nielsen, Lars, PhD, University of Washington, 1984. Clinical Professor. Practice-oriented psychotherapy outome research, spirituality and psychotherapy outcomes, links between theories of psychotherapy and psychotherapy practice—specific interventions and general psychotherapeutic factors (myshrink@byu.edu).

Wheeler, Louise, PhD, Brigham Young University, 2017. Assistant Clinical Professor and Psychologists, SDS, CAPS. (louise_wheeler@byu.edu).

Worthen, Vaughn E., PhD, University of Kansas, 1993. Clinical Professor and Psychologist, CAPS. Career counseling, compassion focused therapy, counseling supervision. (Vaughn_worthen@byu.edu)