Do you want to be a principal?

We are seeking innovative teachers (counselors, psychologists, and so on) who want to learn to become future leaders to join the Aspiring Principals Academy (APA). The APA, sponsored by the BYU–Public School Partnership, is made up of teachers who meet several times during the year to explore the principalship. It is a great way to see if school leadership is a good career path for you; it is also a great way to give yourself a leg up in applying for principal preparation programs and future leadership positions. If you are an educator from one of the BYU Public School Partnership Schools, your district will cover the full cost of your attendance. Educators from other districts are encouraged to apply as well. We will work with you and your district to try and get your substitutes covered as well.

2022–2023 Schedule

Date of Session Time Where Topic
September
Specific Dates Differ for Each District
Times Differ for Each District At District Offices Intro to Principal Leadership
UELS 1: Visionary Leadership
October 19 Evening 4-6 p.m. Virtual UELS 2: Teaching & Learning
November 9 Full Day BYU Campus UELS 5: School Improvement
December 7 Evening 4-6 p.m. Virtual UELS 3: Management for Learning
UELS 4: Community Engagement
January 11 Evening Virtual UELS 7 Equity & Cultural Responsiveness
February 8 Full Day BYU Campus UELS 6: Ethical Leadership

Why Join the Aspiring Principals Academy?

You learn:

  • Which leadership skills you will need
  • What it takes to be a principal
  • Whether leadership is the right path for you.

You receive:

  • Expanded networking opportunities
  • Increased insight into district cultures
  • Information about the BYU School Leadership Program.

We expect you to:

  • Try and attend every session (tentative schedule above)
  • Complete assigned readings before each session
  • Actively participate and enjoy the sessions.

No cost, as:

  • You will not be charged to participate
  • The cost of your substitutes will be covered
  • A $1,000 scholarship is possible if you apply and are accepted to the BYU School Leadership Program. (This scholarship will be prorated based on attendance at all APA sessions.)

Application Information

Applications are now open! We encourage you to speak with your principal about joining us for the 2022–2023 Aspiring Principals Academy.

Applications are due by August 26, 2022.

Apply here

Questions?

Contact Email Phone
EdLF Department edlfsec@byu.edu 801-422-4291
David Boren david_boren@byu.edu 801-422-0059
Alpine District: Scott Sumner ssumner@alpinedistrict.org  
Canyons District: McKay Robinson McKay.Robinson@canyonsdistrict.org  
Granite District: Paulette McMillan pmcmillan@graniteschools.org  
Nebo District: RaShel Shepherd rashel.shepherd@nebo.edu  
Jordan District: Becky Gerber becky.gerber@jordandistrict.org  
Provo City District: Jason Cox jasonc@provo.edu  
Wasatch County District: Garrick Peterson garrick.peterson@wasatch.edu  
Davis District: Gwen Hill ghill@dsdmail.net  
Toole District: Jeff Hamm jhamm@tooeleschools.org