Aspiring Principals Academy

Do you want to be a principal?

We are seeking innovative teachers (counselors, psychologists, and so on) who want to learn to become future leaders to join the Aspiring Principals Academy (APA). The APA, sponsored by the BYU–Public School Partnership, is made up of teachers who meet three times during the year to explore the principalship.

2020–2021 Schedule

Session 1: This session will be held at individual district offices, so dates differ by district. For those not in the BYU Public School Partnership, the first session will be held online and in the evening.

  1. Alpine: September 29, 2020, District Office Board Room
  2. Jordan: October 6, 2020
  3. Nebo: September 30, 2020, District Office Board Room
  4. Provo: September 9, 2020, Grandview Technology Center
  5. All other districts: October 13, 2020, 4:00-7:00 p.m. (Online)
Session 2: October, 27, 2020 (4:00-7:00 p.m., Online)
Session 3: November 17, 2020 (4:00-7:00 p.m., Online)

Why Join the Aspiring Principals Academy?

You learn

  • which leadership skills you will need,

  • what it takes to be a principal, and

  • whether leadership is the right path for you.

You receive

  • expanded networking opportunities,

  • increased insight into district cultures, and

  • information about the BYU School Leadership Program.

We expect you to

  • attend every session (tentative schedule above),

  • complete assigned readings before each session, and

  • actively participate and enjoy the sessions.

No cost, as

  • you will not be charged to participate, 

  • the cost of your substitutes will be covered, and

  • a $1,000 scholarship is possible if you apply and are accepted to the BYU School Leadership Program. (This scholarship will be prorated based on attendance at all four APA sessions.)

Application Information

Applications are now open! We encourage you to speak with your principal about joining us for the 2020–2021 Aspiring Principals Academy.

Applications due dates vary by district as follows:

  1. Alpine: September 1, 2020
  2. Jordan: September 1, 2020
  3. Nebo: September 1, 2020
  4. Provo: September 1, 2020
  5. All other districts: September 30, 2020

Apply here.

Questions?

Contact Email Phone
EdLF Department edlfsec@byu.edu 801-422-4291
David Boren david_boren@byu.edu 801-422-0059
Alpine District: John Patten jpatten@alpinedistrict.org  
Canyons District: Steve Dimond stephen.dimond@canyonsdistrict.org  
Granite District: Bill Kenley bjkenley@graniteschools.org  
Nebo District: Rick Nielsen rick.nielsen@nebo.edu  
Jordan District: Michael Anderson michael.anderson@jordandistrict.org  
Provo City District: Jason Cox jasonc@provo.edu  
Wasatch County District: James Judd james.judd@wasatch.edu