EdS School Psychology: Faculty

The School Psychology Program faculty includes full-time faculty from the Department of Counseling Psychology and Special Education and assigned faculty from the BYU Counseling and Career Center who hold a joint appointment within the Department. Other licensed psychologists from campus and the community teach specialty classes as appropriate.

Full-time Faculty

Fischer, Lane, PhD, University of Minnesota, 1991. Associate Professor. School Psychology Core Faculty. Psychometrics, assessment of psychopathology, child and adolescent psychotherapy, spirituality & psychotherapy, ethics. (lane_fischer@byu.edu)

Gabrielsen, Terisa P., PhD, University of Utah, 2012. Assistant Professor. School Psychology Core Faculty. Autism, ADHD, interdisciplinary assessment and intervention, health care and education, gifted education. (terisa_gabrielsen@byu.edu)

Heath, Melissa Allen, PhD, Texas A&M University, 1996. Associate Professor. School Psychology Core Faculty. Bibliotherapy, grief, school-based crisis intervention. (melissa_allen@byu.edu)

Jackson, Aaron P., PhD, University of Missouri Columbia, 1993. Associate Professor. Academic and career development of Native Americans, counseling philosophy and theory. (aaron_jackson@byu.edu)

Richards, P. Scott, PhD, University of Minnesota, 1988. Professor. Religious and spiritual values in counseling and mental health, research methodology. (scott_richards@byu.edu)

Smith, Timothy B., PhD, Utah State University, 1997. Department Chair. School Psychology Core Faculty. Multicultural psychology, spirituality,identity development, quality relationships. (tim_smith@byu.edu)

Young, Ellie L., PhD, University of South Florida, 2001. Associate Professor. School Psychology Program Coordinator, Core Faculty. Positive behavioral support in secondary settings, gender issues in education, self-concept. (ellie_young@byu.edu)

Joint Appointment Clinical Faculty (CPSE Department & CCC)

Beecher, Mark E., PhD, Brigham Young University, 1998. Clinical Professor. Individual and group psychotherapy; learning, intelligence, and psychological assessment; and disability issues.

Cannon, Jenny, PhD, Brigham Young University, 2008.  Assistant Clinical Professor. Individual and group psychotherapy, severe anxiety disorders, eating disorders and women's health issues, psychological interventions in schools, developmental psychology and child psychotherapy.   (jenny_cannon@byu.edu)

Gleave, Robert, PhD, Brigham Young University, 1981.  Clinical Professor.  Couples, individual, and group psychotherapy; group psychotherapy research; post modern philosophy.   (robert_gleave@byu.edu)

Griner, Derek, PhD, Brigham Young University, 2008.  Assistant Clinical Professor.  Individual and group psychotherapy, couples counseling, multicultureal counseling, supervision, disability service. (derek_griner@byu.edu)

Williams, Marleen S. , PhD, Brigham Young University, 1993. Clinical Professor and Recruitment Coordinator. Diagnosis and treatment of dysfunctional behavior, women’s issues in mental health and counseling psychology, religious issues in counseling. (marleen_williams@byu.edu)

Joint Appointment Clinical Faculty (CPSE Department & CITES)

Caldarella, Paul, PhD, Utah State University, 1998. Joint Appointment Faculty (CPSE and CITES), Licensed Psychologist (UT) and Utah Certified School Psychologist. Teaches ethics, professional roles and standards, and thesis. Serves as the Executive Director of BYU Positive Behavior Support Initiative. (paul_caldarella@byu.edu)

Affiliate and Adjunct Faculty (full- or part-time faculty who teach and supervise in CPSE)

Coffman, Brent, MS, School Psychology, Brigham Young University, 1995. Adjunct Faculty, Certified and practicing school psychologist and licensed professional counselor. Supervises practicum and internship students. (brent.coffman@nebo.edu)

Hoerner, Alicia, PhD University of Utah, 2001.  Visiting Professor.  School Psychology Visiting Faculty.  Multicultural assessment, learning disabilities, evidenced-based culturally sensitive interventions.   (alicia_hoerner@byu.edu)

Steed, Marc, PhD, University of Cincinnati, 2005. Adjunct Faculty, clinical psychologist and school psychologist. Teaches Psychopharmacology. (masteed@gmail.com)

Leavy, Deon, Eds., School Psychology, Brigham Young University, 2007, Adjunct faculty, Certified School Psychologist. Coordinates and supports field-based student experiences (dleavy@alpinedistrict.org)

Miramontes, Nancy, Eds., School Psychology, Brigham Young University, 2010, Adjunct Faculty, Certified School Psychologist. Coordinates and supports field-based student experiences. (nancy.miramontes@nebo.edu)